Tasks (Advanced): Link to Jobs & Set Up Automove

pro

This page applies to TaxDome Pro! pricing plan only. You can upgrade anytime.

While a job moves through the different stages of a pipeline, your team will need to perform various tasks to keep it progressing until it’s done. Learn how to add automated tasks to a pipeline, link tasks to jobs manually, and change assignees to a task.

For more helpful how-to videos, visit TaxDome Academy, our free online hub for
viewing and learning everything you need to know about TaxDome.

Covered here:

How to Use Tasks With Jobs

Each job requires a set of tasks—for example, get the client to e-sign a contract, complete an organizer, or upload a document. You can link these tasks to a job, using our Tasks feature. For instance, you might link the task Ask the client for additional income info for a 1040 Return 2020 job.

Find out more about linking tasks to jobs.

Pipelines allow you to automate—that is, trigger certain actions to happen automatically. You can set things up so that when a job moves to a new stage in a pipeline, an action happens on its own. Automations are template-based. You can, for example, set up a Manager Review task template to be triggered, so that one of your team members knows that they need to review a return once a job enters the Review stage of a pipeline.

For more details, see how to add automations to pipelines.

Automating Tasks Inside Pipelines

To create an automated task, you’ll first need a template. For more details, go to Custom Task Templates. Once you have a template, follow these steps:

1. Go to Settings from your left sidebar menu, select Pipelines, then click on the pipeline name or click on CREATE PIPELINE.

2. Select the stage you want to add the automation to, click + Add automation, then select the Create Task automation from the pull-down menu.

3. Select a task template for the automation.

4. Click SAVE to keep your changes. Once the automation is added, view it by going to the pipeline page and clicking the automation icon above the stage.

When a job is moved to a stage with a Create Task automation inside a pipeline, a pop-up appears showing the automation that will be triggered. Here, you can add, delete, or change task assignees if needed, then click MOVE. The task will automatically get linked to the job.

If you don’t want the task to be automatically created, deselect the action.

How to Link and Automove Tasks in Jobs

Linking tasks to jobs helps your team stay organized. Plus, you can use Automove to make jobs automatically move to the next stage in a pipeline once the team member responsible for the task completes it.

  • A specific task can be linked only once to a job; however, a job may include as many different tasks as needed.
  • Tasks can be linked to jobs by a firm owner, Admin, or any employee with access rights to view all accounts or who has access to the client’s account.
  • They are linked either manually or by adding an automation. While adding tasks to a pipeline using automations involves a change in the pipeline template, manual linking allows you to track all tasks within a pipeline without modifying the template.

Here’s how it works:

1. Access the pipeline’s settings, add the stage for the task, then toggle on Automove Jobs. You can either add the Create Task automation (for more details, go here) or link a pending task manually (step 2 below).

2. To link a task manually, select the job while creating or editing the task (available only when one account is selected in the task’s Client field).

Another option is to go to the pipeline, make sure that the job is in the right stage, click the job box, click + Link on the top right, select Tasks, then choose the tasks. You can link any tasks previously sent to the client.

  • With recurring tasks, the start date is shown next to the task name.
  • Filter tasks by status: By default, all tasks—except for completed ones—are displayed. Click the FILTER button to select the statuses you want to view.

Once tasks are linked, you see them in the Tasks section. The tasks that were linked last will be listed first. You can always get more information about a task or make changes to it:

  • NAME: This is the name you gave the task. If a task is recurring, you’ll see a clock next to it.
  • ASSIGNEE(S): View and change the team members assigned to the task here.
  • STATUS: View and change the current status of the task here. Tasks are in PLANNED, IN PROGRESS, or COMPLETED status.
  • PRIORITY: View and change the current priority of the task here. Tasks have either a LOW, HIGH, MEDIUM, or URGENT priority tag.
  • Click on the task’s name to review it and edit its details.

Click the x to unlink unnecessary tasks.

Once a team member completes a task, the job is automoved to the next stage. Or, if you’re manually moving a job to the next stage, decide what to do next with the incomplete task—unlink, move to the next stage, delete, or mark it completed (for more details, go here).

How to Identify Tasks Linked to Jobs

You can manage linked tasks in these three places:

  • The task editing window: Here, you’ll see which stage the task is in and the pipeline it belongs to. Click on the pipeline’s name to go to it.

  • The task list: Here, you’ll see what job a task is linked to as well as the stage and pipeline it’s in. Click on the job’s name if you need to make changes to a linked task.

  • The pipeline: Look at the counter to the right of the job box to find out if there are any unfinished tasks or other job elements for the current stage. For more details, go here.

How to Change a Task’s Status or Assignee Inside a Pipeline

Usually, you assign tasks to team members while creating a task or a task template. However, you can change who is assigned to a task when...

  • ...reviewing job details. Add, delete, or change the assignees of the linked task inside the current stage. See above for details.
  • ...moving a job to a new stage that includes a Create task automation. Add, delete, or change the assignees when the task is added to a pipeline.
  • ...moving a job with incomplete tasks to a new stage. Add, delete, or change the assignees when moving a job with unfinished tasks to the next stage.

If there are incomplete tasks when a job is moved to a new stage, a pull-down menu appears in the Unfinished Requirements section, with the following selections to choose from:

  • Mark complete: This changes the status of the task to COMPLETED.
  • Move to next stage: This moves the task to the next stage without changing its status.
  • Delete: This deletes the task from the job.
  • Unlink: This will unlink the task from the job. (It will still be available but no longer linked to the job. Once you unlink a task, you can link it to another job.)

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us